Consumer Law - Overview

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version
Consumer Law - Overview

As a service member, you have two levels of consumer protections:

  • protections that apply to all consumers, military and non-military alike, such as laws that protect against:
    • identity theft,
    • unfair trade practices, and
    • abusive debt collection practices
  • PLUS enhanced protections for service members and veterans, including:
    • deployment-related protections under the SCRA
    • additional protections against foreclosure while on active duty
    • various state-specific laws written to support veterans

Use the navigation bar at the left to find specific information about both levels of consumer protection.


Last updated May 2018